how to muslim

Ayo, here I am, back again with another train of thoughts for you. If you like reading the random things I think about then be sure to follow @jeninetaher & @jeninecontinued on instagram because I do a bit of rambling on there.

ALSO: THIS IS A REMINDER TO MY SELF BEFORE ANYONE ELSE. I AM NOT PERFECT NOR DO I CLAIM TO BE. THIS IS A WAY FOR ME TO ORGANIZE MY THOUGHTS AND I CHOOSE TO PUT THIS ON THE INTERNET – PLS DON’T GET OFFENDED LOL or do i mean idk dude

Alrighty. So its 2017, and everything is cool now. like everything. Wanna get drunk? get drunk. wanna date? date! wanna smoke pot? be my guest! It’s not like Allah is watching or anything.

It seems like the spirit of religion is gone. I don’t think I’m judgmental when it comes to what others have done because it’s just none of my business really. You can do whatever you want (obviously) but that doesn’t make it right? Normalizing sins is at an all time high and the “only God can judge me” in every other bio is kind of alarming in a way. Yes you are right. Only God can judge you. Yes, he will judge you. That’s exactly what’s supposed to happen. Attempting to remove yourself from the public eye of judgement doesn’t make you any more right or a sin any less wrong. Because at the end of the day…God is the only one who’s judgment matters.

I don’t know if this is just how it is because I’m growing up or if this is actually something that is changing now in more than just my demographic (I feel the latter is more true), but it’s something I think about a lot because I:

  1. want to know where I stand in all of this
  2. am trying to make sense of the world around me in terms of God

Okay so normalizing sins.

People used to keep sins a secret. Now they just flaunt them, they monetize them, they monetize their sins while labeling it “Islam”. Being the “cool Muslim” is cool. It’s fun. You WANT to be the “cool muslim”. And this has nothing to do with personality really. You could have a terrible personality and still be a “cool muslim”. It can look like improper dress, or putting yourself in environments that aren’t ideal, taking on questionable hobbies, it could be anything. Why do we have to be “bad” to be cool? That has been a long time dilemma, but before we kept it separate from our deen. You were cool because you talked a certain way, or because you started the next hijab wrapping trend – but now its like a game of “how far can we push our deen before we can’t call it deen anymore?

I personally, don’t like this game.

We are so quick to get defensive when someone brings up a topic in terms of deen. We don’t even want to hear it or consider it as an option. We want to make Islam the way we want it to be – as if there isn’t a scripture that was written for us as a guidebook to how to be the ideal Muslim…but that’s not relevant anymore I guess? There’s no general improvement in the ummah’s connection with God or deen in general – and no I’m not speaking on behalf of everyone these are just my personal thoughts so take it as you wish.

BUT there is another thing that also really irks me and its like “a muslim mom bad habit” kinda thing but I find people my age doing it all the time which is kind of disturbing because we should be moving away from that mentality.

When a person is doing something. It may not be completely right – but they’re trying, people will say

“well if you’re not going to do it right, why are you doing it at all?”

“you might as well just stop – it’s not like you’re getting rewarded for it.”

Okay first of all WHO ARE YOU to go around telling people what they should or should not do in terms of their religion. If I am a Muslim girl who wears hijab but may wear more form fitting clothes, or decided to go for the “turban” look one day and my neck was showing like what inclined you to tell that hijabi that she should “just stop”. It’s honestly none. of. your. business. Instead of just being happy for them or encouraging them – we tear them down and discourage them from doing an act that makes them A BETTER MUSLIM. You should always want to improve, not regress.

And let’s say a person decided they wanted to change for the better. They want to stop smoking, cussing, drinking, etc. it could literally be anything – the initial reaction from the general public is “Oh, let’s see how long that lasts”. Why is it so difficult to be an encouraging and positive person?  Let people change – allow them to grow and if you are in a position where you can build them up – you should!

Basically: 1. don’t be rude 2. let people live 3. a sin is a sin regardless of what you think

that’s all I have for you right now – thanks for stopping by!

-jenine taher

Leave a Reply

